NEBOSH International Oil & Gas Certificate

About the Qualification
This new NEBOSH International Oil and Gas Certificate is a specialist qualification for people involved in the Oil and Gas industry who are responsible for ensuring good health and safety practices as part of their day to day duties and is designed to provide a sound breadth of underpinning knowledge that enables them to manage operational oil and gas risks effectively. The NEBOSH Oil and Gas Certificate focuses on international standards and management systems, enabling students to carry out their workplace safety responsibilities both onshore and offshore, reducing the number of accidents and achieving cost savings for the business.
This course is targeted at managers, supervisors, employee representatives, newly appointed health and safety advisers working within the Oil & Gas Industry. Delegates should already have an underpinning knowledge of safety issues and may already have completed the NEBOSH National or International General Certificate.

NEBOSH Syllabus
The syllabus is divided into five elements:

ELEMENT 1: Health, Safety and environmental management in context

  • Learning from Incidents
  • Hazards inherent in oil and gas
  • Risk Management Techniques used in the oil and gas industries
  • Safety cases and safety reports

ELEMENT 2: Hydrocarbon process safety 1

  • Contractormanagement
  • Process SafetyManagement (PSM)
  • Role and Purpose of a permit-to-work system
  • Key principles of shift handover
  • Plant operations and maintenance

ELEMENT 3: Hydrocarbon process safety 2

  • Failure modes
  • Safety critical equipment controls
  • Safe storage of hydrocarbons
  • Furnace and boiler operations

ELEMENT 4: Fire protection and emergency response

  • Fire and explosion risk in the oil and gas industries
  • Emergency Response

ELEMENT 5: Logistics and Transport operations

  • Marine Transport
  • Land Transport

Examination Details
The examination comprises of a 2-hour written examination. The written paper consists of one ‘long-answer’ question and ten ‘short-answer’ questions. All questions are compulsory.